Going retro – mix tape thank you card

This weekend was a fun one. Our boys had some friends over and it was so nice to hear their banter and laughter. And they were nice enough to leave some chocolate so basically they’re welcome back any time 🙂 While I was hanging out in the craft room pretending not to listen in, I played around with the latest challenge over at Fusion. I was inspired by both the layout and the colors plus retro feel of the photograph.

Concord & 9th Mixtape stamp set; thank you card by cupandink.com

The photograph portion of the sketch includes a really cute pink typewriter. I actually don’t have one of those in my stash of stamps, so I switched it out for another retro favorite – a cassette tape! Wow, does this bring back memories! I spent hours making my own mixes so that I could enjoy my favorite songs (and not a gajillion radio commercials). I was living large when my machine would play side B without having to flip it over!

thank you card, concord & 9th mixtape stamp set, card by Adriana at cupandink.com
black foil paper helps the die cut music notes pop!

Where I stayed true to the challenge was the layout, “thank you” for the sentiment and the color scheme (though my photograph makes my background appear more peach than pink). This was so much fun and not only do I have a cute card to send or gift, I’m reminded of so many fun times listening to my own music mix. Somehow, my apple play list isn’t quite the same…

Fusion pink typewriter card maker challenge

Last but not least, here is the graphic detailing the challenge. It’s such a fun one because you can choose to use only the sketch/layout or be inspired by the photograph. You can also choose to do both! How fun is that?

To play along and/or see what the design team and others have created, be sure to visit the Fusion site.

Thanks for your visit!

6 comments

Thank you for your visit and comment today!