GDP 277 – Greeting card for a friend

This recent color challenge by Global Design Project inspired me to start thinking about Valentine’s day and creating something soft and pretty for a friend who could use some soft and pretty in her life right now.

Such soothing colors…

I dug through my card and patterned paper stash to find colors as close as possible to the ones listed above. I ended up including Kraft (aka Crumb Cake) in place of the Sahara Sand and also added a bit of white to the mix. The colors not only inspired my cardstock choices, but also the inks used for inking the paper and coloring the images.

friend greeting card, global design project color challenge
bird image from Free As A Bird (Stampin’ Up!)

The layout was inspired by this post at Poetic Artistry. Making a multi-layered card like this really allows you to add texture and little details here and there. I really enjoyed moving things around to find placement and work on learning balance in the overall design. The twine, enamel dots and little leaves were just “the touch” to add a little something without detracting too much from the bird and sentiment. (At least, that’s what I was thinking… you decide 😉

friend greeting card, global design project color challenge
flower and leaves from Always In My Heart (Stampin’ Up!)

Thank you for stopping by today to see my card. I hope you are inspired to spend some time playing with color today. For more ideas and inspiration, be sure to visit the Global Design Project site and play along!

Thank you for your visit and comment today!